CNG HS Academic Program Guide 2024 - 2025: SCIENCE

Pre AP BIOLOGY 9 A & B

SCI102/SCI103

0.5 credit each

The Pre-AP Biology course provides the foundational biology knowledge and skills that matter the most for college and career readiness, and promotes the development of a coherent understanding of biological systems. The course is based around cross-cutting concepts that allow for the integration of content with science practices as students analyze the natural world around them. Course content will include the study of cellular systems, ecological systems, genetics,  inheritance  and evolution. Skill  emphasis  focuses on laboratory investigations, analytical reading and writing, attention to modeling and strategic use of mathematics.

PreAP Biology, or Honors, is a required class for all students.

Pre AP-CHEMISTRY 10 A & B

SCI202/SCI203

0.5 credit each

Average workload: 1-2 hours per week outside of class. The course provides students with the foundational chemistry knowledge and skills to support future advanced coursework in AP chemistry or the university level. This academically rigorous course covers the principles from both practical and theoretical perspectives, integrating content with science practices. Topics studied include the structure of matter, states of matter, the periodic table, chemical bonding, chemical reactions, behavior of gases, laboratory work and the physical world chemistry of Earth’s systems.

No prerequisite.

PHYSICS 11 A & B

SCI400/SCI401                                                                                                   

0.5 credit each

This general physics program emphasizes understanding of concepts and application of skills in the context of laboratory investigations and applications in the everyday world. Students will be learning and applying physics concepts to a variety of conceptual problems and solving physics world problems using basic algebraic skills. Students will also be performing both physical and digital labs in which they collect and analyze real data and will be doing several project based learning (PBL) challenges in teams. Content includes kinematics, dynamics, momentum, energy, non-linear motion, waves and sound. Physics (or an advanced physics course) is a required class for graduation at CNG. Previous or concurrent enrollment in geometry and an algebra course is strongly recommended.

No prerequisite.

AP BIOLOGY A & B with LAB 10 - 12

SCI370/SCI371

0.5 credit each

Prerequisites: Pre-AP or Honors pre-AP biology
Summer work: None
Average workload: 2-3 hours/week
This course is intended for students who enjoyed Biology and/or are interested in pursuing a Biology related career (e.g. Medicine, Psychology, Genetics, Environmental Engineering)

This course is designed to be equivalent to a full year Introductory College-level Biology course. By structuring the course around the four big ideas, enduring understandings, and science practices designed by the College Board, students are assisted in developing an appreciation for the study of life and identifying and understanding the unifying principles within a diversified biological world.

AP ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE A & B  10 - 12

SCI490/SCI491

0.5 credit each

Prerequisites: Students must be concurrently enrolled or have completed Chemistry or Honors Chemistry
Summer  work:  N/A

Supplies:  A notebook used only for APES
Average workload: about 2 hours per week

AP Environmental Science (APES) is an interdisciplinary course intended for students who are interested in understanding the organization and interrelatedness in our environment, are curious about how our economy and environment are connected, and consider solutions to environmental issues. The range of topics investigated in this course through lectures, hands-on activities, group work, and projects include: biodiversity, ecosystems, energy resources, geology, atmospheric sciences, populations and dynamics, land use changes, air/land/water pollution, global change and sustainability. The goals of the course are for students to understand the complex interconnectedness of the environment which ranges from natural to human-created spaces, and engage in developing solutions to the environmental problems we face today and in the future.

Students must be concurrently enrolled or have completed Chemistry or Honors Chemistry

SCIENCE OF COOKING

SCI502

0.5 credit

This semester-long course will discuss concepts from the physical sciences that underpin both everyday cooking and fine cuisine. At the end of the course, students will be able to explain how a range of cooking techniques and recipes work, as well as describe the scientific principles that allow us to perceive, interact, and modify the cooking experience for our personal preferences and palettes.

Essential Questions:

1. What are the physical and chemical processes that impact our diets and food health?

2. How can the scientific method/engineering cycle be used to diagnose recipes and improve culinary skills?

3. How does our experience with food impact our identity?

4. How are basic principles in biology, chemistry, and physics used to enhance recipes?

NUTRITION & HEALTH 11 - 12

SCI484

0.5 credit

Have you ever wondered what it means to eat “right”? The diet and weight loss industry nets billions of dollars each year while world-wide obesity rates are on the rise. In Nutrition and Health students will explore healthy lifestyle choices by scientifically & critically analyzing popular diets and exercise programs and by using tools and techniques to track their own behaviors as they relate to nutrition and fitness. Students will also cook healthy & nutrient dense meals and compare home cooking vs. processed & fast food options.

HUMAN ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY  11 - 12

SCI488

0.5 credit

Human Anatomy and Physiology is a laboratory-based course that investigates the structure and function of the human body. The material is approached as comparative anatomy and physiology, where students will regularly engage in dissection of both invertebrates and vertebrates to study organs and organ systems more closely. The range of topics include histology (study of tissues), biodiversity, ethics and organ systems. Students will conduct several types of summative assessments throughout the semester, including: lab practicals and reports, microscope labs, dissections, written tests and more. Summatives occur frequently. This will allow you to demonstrate your knowledge in a multitude of ways and reassess the same standards multiple times.

No prerequisite.

QUÍMICA ORGÁNICA   11 - 12

SCI496

0.5 credit

Los compuestos orgánicos y sus derivados tienen una alta relevancia mundo real. Reconocer, nombrar y explicar las reacciones principales de dichos compuestos y su importancia para la industria química es uno de los objetivos de este curso; así como el de suplir las necesidades de los estudiantes que van a tomar el examen de estado (Saber Test) en el área de las ciencias, cuyos principales unidades de estudio en Biología, Física y Química se abordarán de manera  teórico  práctica  que permita  reforzar  los  conocimientos previos que los estudiantes han adquirido durante su vida estudiantil pero enfatizándolos en el idioma español.

No prerequisite.

This course is taught in Spanish.

HONORS Pre AP-BIOLOGY 9 A & B

SCI154/SCI155

0.5 credit each

The Honors Pre-AP Biology course provides students with the foundational biology knowledge and skills to move into AP Biology or AP Environmental Science. This academically rigorous course covers the same units as the regular pre-AP biology class, with special emphasis on thinking critically about science, and using an understanding of biological processes and systems to explain phenomenon in the natural world. Students will regularly be asked to solve AP and university-level biology problems. This course fulfills the 9th grade science requirement.

HONORS Pre AP-CHEMISTRY 10 A & B

SCI254/SCI255

0.5 credit each

Average workload: 1-2 hours per week outside of class.
The Honors Pre-AP Chemistry course provides students with the foundational chemistry knowledge and skills to support future advanced coursework in AP chemistry. This academically rigorous course covers the principles of Pre-AP chemistry from both practical and theoretical perspectives, integrating content with science practices. The units covered correspond to those of the Pre-AP chemistry class, with special emphasis on problem-solving, stoichiometry, solutions, and error analysis of laboratory work.
Students will regularly be asked to solve AP and university-level chemistry problems.

Pre-AP or Honors pre-AP biology, or special evaluation by instructor is a prerequisite.

AP PHYSICS I 11 - 12 A & B

SCI402/SCI403

0.5 credit each

Prerequisites: Geometry/Honors Geometry, and previous or concurrent enrollment in an algebra course.

Summer work: Math skills review packet

Average workload: 3 hours/week outside of class

This course is intended for students who want a more challenging and faster moving Physics class in 11th grade.

AP Physics 1 is an introductory algebra-based college-level physics course equivalent to a first semester college-level course. This course is useful for potential engineering, pre-med, science, and computer science majors as well as anyone interested in Physics. The course covers the study of Classical Mechanics, which includes Kinematics, Projectile Motion, Newton's Laws, Circular Motion, Gravitation & Kepler's Laws, Work & Energy, Momentum & Impulse, Torque & Rotational Dynamics, and Simple Harmonic Motion. A major focus of the course is on the interconnections between the various topics, and applying critical thinking skills in order to synthesize solutions to complex problems. Students will also be performing both physical and digital labs in which they collect and analyze real data and will be doing several project based learning (PBL) challenges in teams. At the end of the course, students will take the AP Physics 1 Exam, which will test their knowledge of, and facility with physics concepts and principles, and the algebraic and graphing skills they have been taught.

AP CHEMISTRY A & B  11 - 12

SCI470/SCI471
SCI472/SCI473

0.5 credit each

Prerequisites: PreAP/Honors PreAP Chemistry
Summer work: None
Average workload: 2-3 hours/week

This course is intended for students who plan to attend university specializing in the sciences and/or engineering.

This academically rigorous, College Board approved program is designed to be the equivalent of a full-year, college-level general chemistry course. The course expands upon, and adds depth to the introductory chemistry or Honors chemistry course taught at CNG.

AP PHYSICS C A & B with LAB 12

SCI480/SCI481
SCI482/SCI483

0.5 credit each

Prerequisites: Physics or AP Physics 1, and concurrent enrollment in AP Calculus.
Summer work: Conceptual pre-assessment
Average workload: 4 hours/week outside of class.
This  course  is  intended  for  students  who  are  pursuing STEM careers and/or are applying to a competitive university.

This is an academically rigorous one year, calculus-based, college-level physics course designed as a foundation for students particularly interested in continuing with physical science or engineering. The course is intended to help students develop a deep understanding of the foundational principles that shape classical mechanics. Emphasis is on the ability to reason about physical phenomena and apply analytical, modelling and practical skills in investigations of physical situations, with the corresponding problem solving.

EARTH & SPACE SCIENCE 11 - 12

SCI302

0.5 credit

Earth & Space Science (ESS) is a course designed for seniors to complete their Earth Science requirement. The course is intended to meet the NGSS requirements for earth science not met by the other core science classes. Students will begin with two topic-based units on Space and then on Earth. Throughout the course, students will engage in the design thinking process, resulting in a final project and presentation that addresses problems and solutions relevant to human beings' place in both Space and on Earth. The concepts and skills students will learn and use in ESS will enable them to: understand and evaluate a broad range of scientific texts; analyze problems and create solutions for them; and apply their learning to past and future experiences in the natural world. 

No prerequisite.

PREPARACIÓN PRE-SABER MATEMÁTICAS Y CIENCIAS: #LISTOSPA'LAU 11

SCI500

0.5 credit

Prerequisites: None
Language of instruction: Spanish

Este curso es una electiva para grado 11, dictada en español, dirigida a aquellos estudiantes que desean obtener buenos resultados en la pruebas de estado SABER 11 en Matemáticas y Ciencias (Biología, Química y Física). Permitiéndoles ingresar a las mejores universidades del país y obteniendo una mejor preparación para las exigencias académicas de la educación superior. El curso está diseñado para reforzar los conocimientos previos y las competencias de que los estudiantes han adquirido durante su vida estudiantil enfatizando en las habilidades para responder preguntas estandarizadas tipo SABER 11.

MICROBIOLOGY 11 - 12

SCI494

0.5 credit

This is an elective course designed for seniors who wish to take another semester of science and is intended for those planning to enter health or other biology fields. Students will explore the microbial world, identify microorganisms (pathogenic & non-pathogenic), and drug resistant organisms, among other related topics. We will develop understanding through research and experimentation, as well as critical thinking and problem solving skills.  The acquired skills and knowledge are useful for postsecondary courses, as well as in everyday life.