Skip to Main Content

EBSCO

Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox recomended for these web pages.

Video instructivo en español

Recomendaciones generales

EBSCO APP

The EBSCO App is available for iOS and Android devices from the iTunes App store and Google Play.

How do I log in to the EBSCO App?

After opening the EBSCO App, use the Find my Library feature to sign in with your institutional credentials. If you need these credentials, please see your administrator to get them.

Note: If your institution has configured IP authentication AND you are using your device within your institution's IP range, you will be “silently” logged in to the app without needing to enter login credentials.

In addition, if your institution is setup for a third-party login (including institutional Single Sign-On, OpenAthens, Shibboleth, or Proxy), instead of being take to the EBSCO login screen you will be prompted to login with the associated third-party login screen.

If you have previously created a Personal User Account for accessing EBSCOhost/EBSCO Discovery Service, you can use that to log in to the app. When you log into the app with your personal user credentials, any articles you save in the app are automatically saved to your personal folder.

You only need to log in to the app once. The app remembers your login credentials and you are automatically authenticated for future sessions.

Note: If you log in with institutional credentials, you can create your own Personal User Account from within the app.

EBSCO

EBSCOhost Research Databases

EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet.

It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.

Primary Search

Primary Search

Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys’ Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1985.

Primary Search
Limit Your Results

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

Middle Search Plus
Limit Your Results

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Education Research Complete
Limit Your Results

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Funk & Wgnalls New World Encyclopedia

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.

Funk & Wgnalls New World Encyclopedia
Limit Your Results

TopicSearch

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,691 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

TOPICsearch
Limit Your Results

GreenFILE

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

GreenFILE
Limit Your Results

ERIC

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

ERIC
Limit Your Results

Advanced Placement Source

Advanced Placement Source

Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. This database is designed to support students in multiple areas of study including mathematics; physics; chemistry; biology; computer science; human geography; psychology; economics & statistics; government & politics; environmental science; U.S., European & world history; the arts and music. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.

Advanced Placement Source
Limit Your Results

MAS Complete

MAS Complete

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

MAS Complete
Limit Your Results

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Teacher Reference Center
Limit Your Results

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

A Complete Foundation of Literary Reference Works

Available via EBSCOhost, Explora or its own dedicated interface, Literary Reference Center Plus provides relevant information on thousands of authors and their works. In addition to contemporary and classic full-text poems, short stories, novels, and critical essays, the database includes: 

  • More than 27,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
  • More than 217,000 author biographies
  • More than 14,000 author interviews
  • More than 680 full-text literary journals
  • More than 2,900 full-text e-books
  • More than 1.2 million book reviews
  • More than 840 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) and children's literature titles, including film analyses
  • More than 190 Critical Insights volumes

Additional Highlights

Literary Reference Center Plus includes full-text resources focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. The database also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.

Literary Reference Center Plus includes new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, including:

  • Critical Survey of Shakespeare’s Sonnets that provides historical context and analysis for 25 of the Bard's sonnets
  • Introduction to Literary Context series that introduces students to great works of literature such as The Cask of Amontillado, Frankenstein, The Bell Jar and Heart of Darkness, providing historical context and illuminating key concepts and vocabulary
Literary Reference Center Plus
Limit Your Results

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. It is EBSCO Publishing’s intention to provide access to LISTA on a continual basis at www.libraryresearch.com. Customers currently subscribing to other EBSCOhost databases may elect to have LISTA added to their EBSCOhost profile.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Limit Your Results

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, em>Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including: The Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Seattle Times, etc. In addition, Newspaper Source Plus features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, PBS, and more.

Newspaper Source Plus
Limit Your Results

Colegio NUEVA GRANADA | www.cng.edu | Cra 2E No. 70-20 | Phone: (571)212 3511
Bogotá - Colombia

CNG