LibGuides: Elisa Vargas Library: Alternatives to Google

The Free Library

The Free Library
Since 2003, The Free Library has offered free, full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors, whose biographies, images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, The Free Library has been expanded to include a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications covering Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government, Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences. This collection includes millions of articles dating back to 1984 as well as newly-published articles that are added to the site daily.

The Free Library is an invaluable research tool and the fastest, easiest way to locate useful information on virtually any topic. Explore the site through a keyword search, or simply browse the enormous collection of literary classics and up-to-date periodicals to find exactly what you need.

DuckDuckGo

DuckDuckGo
A search engine that doesn't track you!

Zetoc

Welcome to Zetoc. We are one of the world’s most comprehensive research databases, giving you access to over 30,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers through the British Library’s electronic table of contents.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research.

Government/CountryInformation

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
NASA Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (sedac)
Estimates the number of people (head counts and percents) and the land area (square kilometers and percents) within multiple physical, biological and climate variable themes, for statistical areas around the world. These themes include: biomes, climate zones, coastal proximity zones, elevation zones, and population density zones.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. You can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Northwestern University International Documents Collection
The International Documents Collection contains the publications of approximately 25 intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), a few non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and supporting materials from private publishers. The collection spans the WWI era to the present. Gov Info has been a depository library of the United Nations since 1946, the European Union since 1970, the Organization of the American States since 1962, and became a depository library of the World Tourism Organization in 2002.

The International Document Collection contains useful material for researchers of global issues. National governments often overlook or do not have the resources necessary to evaluate issues that affect themselves and their neighbors. Issues that transcend borders include: development, globalization, finance, health, labor, migration, refugees, trade and war. IGOs also work to promote h
OECD Better Policies for Better Lives
OECD uses its wealth of information on a broad range of topics to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability. We help ensure the environmental implications of economic and social development are taken into account.
Population Pyramid
Provides graphs of the population in various countries from 1950 - 2100.
Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organization
The Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organization (UNPO) is an international, nonviolent, and democratic membership organisation. Its members are indigenous peoples, minorities, and unrecognised or occupied territories who have joined together to protect and promote their human and cultural rights, to preserve their environments, and to find nonviolent solutions to conflicts which affect them.
World Bank
The World Bank Group has set two goals for the world to achieve by 2030: End extreme poverty by decreasing the percentage of people living on less than $1.25 a day to no more than 3%
Promote shared prosperity by fostering the income growth of the bottom 40% for every country
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries.

Established in 1944, the World Bank Group is headquartered in Washington, D.C. We have more than 10,000 employees in more than 120 offices worldwide.
World Bank Environment
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data.

Science, Technology, or Engineering sources

National Science Digital Library
NSDL provides access to high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
Intute
Intute is a free online service that helps you to find web resources for your studies and research.

With millions of resources available on the Internet, it can be difficult to find useful material. We have reviewed and evaluated thousands of resources to help you choose key websites in your subject.

PubMed

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

PubMed Central

Academic Info

Academic Subject Guide
Our in-depth directory is a round up of the best and most useful links and resources within a specific subject area. In most cases they list both printed reference works and electronic resources.

The subject guides are also put together taking into account their accessibility, authoritative sources as well as their ease of use and aim to present a fair and well rounded perspective of the respective subject matter.

Infotopia

Infotopia
Infotopia is an academic search engine accessing only trusted websites previously selected by librarians, teachers and library and educational consortia.

WolframAlpha

WolframAlpha is an "answer machine", this service answers queries directly base don the search terms rather than providing a list of results. Key features: Search for information about domain names and compare websites. It also has various mathand statistics functions.

CORE

An experimental service, allowing keyword and semantic searches of over 10 million open access articles. Key features: If you find an article you like, CORE will find similar ones by analyzing the text of that article.

BASE

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Key Features: Allows you to search intellectually selected resources and their bibliographic data, including those from the so-called ‘deep web’, which are ignored by commercial search engines. There are several options for sorting the results list and you can browse by Dewey Decimal Classification and document type.

DOMZ

Also known as the ODP or DMOZ, this site is the premier open subject index on the net. The Open Directory Project claims to be ".the largest human-edited directory on the web." Major search engines like Google, Teoma, HotBot, and Lycos, contract with the Open Directory Project to provide directory services.