Skip to main content

High School: World History - Genocide

World History - Genocide

Image result for genocide

World History: Genocide

Teacher: Mr. Adam Kastner

World Book Advanced

EVL Print Resources

Websites

ABC-CLIO

World History: The Modern Era covers a broad range of topics in depth—the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; and the last 100 years of conflicts and international cooperation. This comprehensive resource provides easy-to-navigate access to authoritative source materials for research purposes, enabling students to complete coursework efficiently. In addition, the Idea Exchange section features thesis-driven, peer-reviewed essays by accomplished scholars.

Databases

Image result for sirs issues researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Editorially-created Topic Overview pages help build solid foundations for understanding each issue. Critical Thinking and Information Literacy skills are promoted through engaging Essential Questions with answers and viewpoint articles. All articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources.

Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 

Gale Power Search

Use the PowerSearch widget to search all Gale Cengage databases at once. You can display the results in a list or select Analyze Topic Finder to display results in a cool Topic  Wheel. Click on any part of the Topic Wheel and the associated results display in a window on the right.

PBS - Worse Than War

EVL DVDs

Cover image On our watch

 DVD 364.15 FRO

Presents the story of genocide in Darfur, in which over 200,000 people were killed and 2,500,000 were displaced over four years as Janjaweed militias and the Sudanese government conducted a brutal campaign of rape and slaughter which the United Nations and the international community failed to stop.

 

This is a good one - -  -it highlights how politics interfere with stopping genocide.

Genocide 

DVD 304.6 GEN

Examines the issue of genocide--the systematic destruction of a group of people, explaining the nature and causes of genocide, and looking at how the world community is working to keep it from happening.

Image result for sometimes in april

Sometimes in April

DVD 813.6 SOM

Augustin Muganza, a young officer in the Hutu army who is married to a Tutsi woman, looks back from the perspective of his brother's trial to examine the events of 1994 when the Hutus murdered over 800,000 Tutsis in Rwanda while the world community stood idle

 

Click for more information on this title

The devil came on horseback

DVD 962.7 DEV

An up-close, honest, and uncompromising look at the crisis in Darfur. Exposes this on-going tragedy as seen through the eyes of one American witness.

Image result for god grew tired of us

God grew tired of us

DVD 962.404 GOD

Explores the indomitable spirit of three "Lost Boys" from the Sudan who are forced to leave their homeland due to a tumultuous civil war. Chronicles their triumph over seemingly insurmountable adversities and a relocation to the United States, where the Lost Boys build active and fulfilling new lives but remain deeply committed to helping friends and family they have left behind.

Rwandan Victims Temtimonies

Colegio NUEVA GRANADA | www.cng.edu | Cra 2E No. 70-20 | Phone: (571)212 3511
Bogotá - Colombia

CNG