Skip to main content

Elisa Vargas Library: Primary & Secondary Sources

Your Go-To source for research projects and homework help.

Primary Sources in Databases

 

US History Primary Source Websites

AP US History

Image result for only2clicks

Click the picture to access selected websites for AP US history.

Ask Mr. Kastner or Mrs. Habegger for the login and password.

Primary Sources on Exploration & Voyages of Discovery

New York Public Library Digital Collection

Index

This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

History Teacher.Net weblinks

Audio, Visual & Image Primary Sources

Associated Press Image Archive

Image result for associated press image archive

AP Images, a division of The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. Browse AP's comprehensive archive with millions of images in entertainment, sports, news, archival and creative conten

Getty Image Archive

Image result for getty images

A truly global archival offering of defining moments, places and personalities - from the historical to the present-day.

Library of Congress Prints & Photograph Archive

 

Image result for library of congress logo

& Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

 

The Photo Archives is a rich and expanding collection of photographic images gathered from archives, libraries, museums, photo agencies, and private donors around the world. The collection spans the period from the end of World War I to the early 1950s.

Home

Image result for smithsonian image gallery

The thousands of images on this site represent only a small portion of the more than 1.5 million printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries. The images available on this site represent a broad cross-section of the Libraries' collections. Additional images and collections are added regularly.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Infographic

World History Primary Sources

George Mason University World History Sources

Image result for george mason  finding world history

World History Sources responds to these challenges (as well as the new opportunities offered by the Internet) by creating a website to help world history teachers and students locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and to further their understanding of the complex nature of world history, especially the issues of cultural contact and globalization.

 

World Digital Library

Image result for world digital library

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.The principal objectives of the WDL are to:Promote international and intercultural understanding; Expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the Internet; Provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences; Build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.

 

Ancient History Primary Sources

The Chauvet Cave

Image result for chauvet cave website

Learn about the 1994 discovery of Paleolithic cave paintings in France and view photographs of the paintings.

Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative

The Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative (CDLI) represents the efforts of an international group of Assyriologists, museum curators and historians of science to make available through the internet the form and content of cuneiform tablets dating from the beginning of writing, ca. 3350 BC, until the end of the pre-Christian era.

The Dead Sea Scrolls

Image result for dead sea scrolls library of congress

  

The exhibition Scrolls From the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship brings before the American people a selection from the scrolls which have been the subject of intense public interest. 

Perseus Digital Library from  Tufts Universicy

Image result for perseus collection tufts

An evolving collection of resources for the study of the ancient world, including archaeology, atlas, texts and translations, text tools and lexica. Collection includes:  Greek & Roman, Arabic, Germanic, 19th Century American,  Renassiance, 

Fordham University - Ancient History Sourcebook

 

Image result for fordham ancient history sourcebook

 

This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago. In many cases it is these older translations which are used in commercially available sourcebooks. But note that, for classroom use,  in some cases the more modern translations are superior from a pedagogic viewpoint: this is less the case with historiography than with literature. In other words, use online resources well, but don't get carried away!

Colegio NUEVA GRANADA | www.cng.edu | Cra 2E No. 70-20 | Phone: (571)212 3511
Bogotá - Colombia

CNG